Links

photo by Guthrie Straw Photography

Collaborations with local governments, businesses, landowners, farmers, educators, and social service providers are essential in the creation of a more inclusive, extensive food network.  Please visit our recommended websites for more information (and inspiration!) on how they’re working to grow our local food community.

Local (Western Washington County) Resources

Adelante Mujeres:  http://www.adelantemujeres.org/

Forest Grove Chamber of Commerce: http://visitforestgrove.com/

Forest Grove Senior & Community Center:  http://fgscc.org/FGSCC/Welcome.html

Forest Grove Grange:  http://www.orgrange.org/find.htm#Washington

Food Rescue Program at Pacific University:  http://www.pacificu.edu/cce/programs/foodrescue.cfm

Willamette Valley Agriculture:  http://willamettevalleyagriculture.wikidot.com/dairy-creek-community-food-web

Neighborhood Notes (A Closer Look at Portland’s Local Food System):  http://www.neighborhoodnotes.com/news/2012/03/a_closer_look_at_portlands_local_food_system/

City of Forest Grove:  http://www.forestgrove-or.gov/

Pacific University’s Center for Civic Engagement:  http://www.pacificu.edu/cce/

Growing Gardens:  htpp://www.growing-gardens.org

Statewide (Oregon) Resources

Multanomah County Local Food initiative:  http://web.multco.us/sustainability/local-food

Multnomah County Beginning Urban Farmer Apprenticeship Program: http://web.multco.us/sustainability/BUFA

Friends of Family Farmers:  http://www.friendsoffamilyfarmers.org/

Northern Women Farmers/Women in Agriculture (WAggies) of the North Willamette: northernwomenfarmers@lists.oregonstate.edu

Oregon Food Bank:  http://www.oregonfoodbank.org/

Oregon Tilth: http://www.tilth.org

Real Food Challenge: http://www.realfoodchallenge.org/

Nationwide Resources

USDA Beginning Farmers and Ranchers Program:  http://www.start2farm.gov/

USFDA Farmers Markets report:  http://www.ams.usda.gov/AMSv1.0/farmersmarkets

Food First (downloadable resource guide for local food policy):   http://www.foodfirst.org/en/publications/policybriefs

Check out these great webinars from The National Young Farmers Coalition and Democracy at Work :

An Introduction to Worker Cooperatives for Farmers and Start Ups

Cooperative Business Models For Young Farmers Webinar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: